All major credit cards accepted - payments are facilitated by PayPal










Sepia Records Ltd.
96 Tubbs Road
NW10 4SB

Registered in England and Wales, company number 4436472


1. Someone Like You (Piano Solo Introduction) - Kenny Clayton 3:00 
2. Home Is Where The Heart Is - Leigh Lawson, Debi Doss, Andrew Derbyshire, Lewis Rae 2:29 
3. Here We Are - Lewis Rae 3:25 
4. Empty Spaces - Leigh Lawson, Debi Doss 4:15 
5. Someone Like You - Andrew Derbyshire 3:42 
6. What You Got! - Andrew Derbyshire, Debi Doss 5:13 
7. All Through The Years - Leigh Lawson, Debi Doss, Andrew Derbyshire, Lewis Rae 2:52 
8. So Easy - Andrew Derbyshire 3:34 
9. Getting The Right Thing Wrong - Leigh Lawson, Debi Doss 3:14 
10. I Am What You Need - Lewis Rae 3:47 
11. Young 'Un - Debi Doss 3:49 
12. Losing You - Debi Doss 3:15 
13. Amen - Leigh Lawson, Andrew Derbyshire, Debi Doss 5:25 
14: All Through The Years (Alternate Version) - Debi Doss 2:38  

Title: Someone Like You - World Premiere Recording
Artist: Debi Doss, Andrew Derbyshire, Lewis Rae, Leigh Lawson
Catalogue No: SEPIA 8000
Barcode: 5055122180005
Release Date: 7 May 2007

On April 25th, 1990 the curtain fell on the final London performance of Someone Like You, a musical love story set in the American Civil War. For Petula Clark the dream that she had pursued for fifteen years was over.

Someone Like You was first conceived in the 1970s when Petula travelled through the rugged landscape of West Virginia and became inspired by the setting. In the 1980s Petula began creating her own original stage musical with Dee Shipman, an established writer known for her collaboration with Charles Aznavour.

Someone Like You enjoyed a successful tour of England throughout the winter months of 1989 and co-starred Petula, Dave Willett's and Clive Carter. Despite positive notices from the critics; the show was fraught with backstage problems and artistic differences resulting in a much changed production that West End audiences saw in early 1990.

Aside from a handful of recordings that have been issued on various albums the majority of the work from Someone Like You remains unheard as a complete cast album of the show was never recorded. As with so many unsuccessful musical productions, hundreds of fine songs and performances become lost with time.

For this reason it was felt that a record of Petula Clark and Dee Shipman's compositions needed to be made. The idea came to fruition in August 2006 when Kenny Clayton agreed to produce new arrangements for twelve songs from Someone Like You. Clayton was the obvious and only choice for the project having worked as musical director / arranger on the original production.

The voices selected to showcase these songs for this recording were chosen for their unique vocal talents and qualities. The rich and youthful voice of former Pop Idol finalist and West End star Andrew Derbyshire highlights the contemporary edge to these songs while singer Debi Doss performs the material with clear, crisp intonation, allowing her voice to convey the sentiments of Shipman's lyrics. Finally to create an appropriate bond with the original production, Lewis Rae (who played the role of Andy) was invited to sing on this recording and Leigh Lawson's narration forms a link between the songs.

© 2002 - 2008 Sepia Records Ltd.