All major credit cards accepted - payments are facilitated by PayPal








Sepia Records Ltd.
96 Tubbs Road
NW10 4SB

Registered in England and Wales, company number 4436472


1. You can't be true, dear 2:55
2. The night has a thousand eyes 2:41
3. Quicksilver 2:48
4. With my eyes wide open I'm dreaming 3:17
5. Music! Music! Music! 3:06
6. It's so nice to have a man around the house 3:06
7. Hold me, hold me, hold me (hold me tight) 3:11
8. There never was a baby like my baby 2:43
9. How will he know 3:16
10. Shrimp Boats 3:29
11. More! More! More! 3:18
12. I've got a feeling you're foolin' 3:18
13. Did anyone call 2:58
14. Frankie 2:58
15. Beware 3:04
16. If Someone Had Told Me 3:09
17. To be loved by you 3:22
18. The world has a promise 2:55
19. Tattered and torn 2:36
20. Dancing on the grapes 2:12
21. Diamond mine in Madagascar 2:57
22. Crazy he calls me 3:17
23. Say you'll wait for me 3:06
24. I don't care 2:51
25. Two other people 2:55

Title: Spotlight on Dolores Gray
Artist: Dolores Gray
Catalogue No: SEPIA 1012
Barcode: 5055122110125
Release Date: 22 April 2003

Dolores Gray scored her first bulls-eye (literally and critically) as the original Annie Oakley in London's "Annie Get Your Gun" which opened in June 1947 for 1,304 performances. While in Britain English Columbia signed her up and the 6 "popular" songs she recorded for them are making their debut appearance on CD here.

She returned to America following her "Annie" triumph to star in "Two on the Aisle" opposite Bert Lahr and with John Raitt in "Carnival in Flanders" both on Broadway. For her performance in the latter she won the 1954 Tony Award as Best Actress in a Musical.

Contracted to American Decca from 1951 to 1955 she recorded pop songs and had some chart success.

Hollywood beckoned and for MGM she starred in "Kismet", "The Opposite Sex", "It's Always Fair Weather" and "Designing Woman". Broadway audiences then saw her in "Destry Rides Again" and "Sherry". In 1974 Dolores Gray reappeared on the London stage in "Gypsy" and when Sondheim's "Follies" made it's long awaited debut in London in 1987, critics and audiences were once again treated to her amazing artistry as Carlotta, the "survivor" singing "I'm Still Here".

The 25 tracks featured here are re-mastered from 78's and most have not appeared on CD before.


© 2002 - 2009 Sepia Records Ltd.