Sepia Records Ltd.
96 Tubbs Road
NW10 4SB

Registered in England and Wales, company number 4436472


1. I Want To Be Near You 2:38
2. I Fall In Love With You Ev'ry Day 2:43
3. Beyond The Sea (La Mer) 2:50
4. I'll Be Yours (J'attendrai) 2:59
5. Daddy's Little Girl 2:56
6. True Love 3:04
7. Oh, My Darling 2:38
8. Wild Guitar 2:33
9. Trying 3:07
10. Nine Never Knew 3:13
11. Stay Where You Are 2:54
12. A Gay Caballero 3:12
13. Danger 3:07
14. The Japanese Sandman 2:27
15. It's So Nice To Be Nice To Your Neighbor 2:12
16. Woman 2:23
17. The Zoo 2:51
18. Sweet Augustine (With Alan Dale & Buddy Greco) 2:03
19. East Side, West Side (With Alan Dale & Buddy Greco) 2:42
20. The High And The Mighty 2:45
21. There's No Happiness For Me (With Alan Dale & Buddy Greco) 2:41
22. Don't (With Alan Dale & Buddy Greco) 2:15
23. My Own True Love 2:57
24. The Song From Desiree 2:26
25. I'm So Ashamed 2:28
26. Play Me Hearts And Flowers 2:43
27. You're In Love With Someone 2:52
28. The Yellow Rose Of Texas 2:27

Title: The High And The Mighty
Artist: Johnny Desmond

Catalogue No: SEPIA 1057
Barcode: 5055122110576
Release Date: 4 October 2005

Born in Detroit in 1920 Johnny Desmond started his career as a child performer. After leaving the Detroit Conservatory of Music Johnny sang with Bob Crosby, Gene Krupa and Glenn Miller's Army Air Force band during WW2 before branching out as a solo performer.

Throughout the 1950s the multi-talented Johnny was a regular on the "Breakfast Club" radio show and also appeared on television singing his latest hits. As an actor he appeared in straight plays on stage and screen and in Broadway musicals he starred opposite Vivian Blaine in "Say Darling" and with Barbra Streisand in "Funny Girl". An accomplished pianist Johnny was also a prolific composer and one of his compositions, "Oh, My Darling" is heard on this CD.

In the U.S.A. Johnny achieved 19 chart entries in the 1950s hitting the Top Ten with 4 recordings - "Woman", "Heart of My Heart", "Play Me Hearts and Flowers" and "The Yellow Rose of Texas" - his biggest hit that went to number 3. All four Top Ten hits are included on this CD along with many of his other chart entries - "The High and The Mighty"- this title song of the John Wayne movie went to number 17 and "My Own True Love", based on Tara's Theme from "Gone With The Wind" made number 23 in the U.S. charts.

Of the 28 tracks featured here, at least 24 are making their CD debut.

© 2002 - 2009 Sepia Records Ltd.