All major credit cards accepted - payments are facilitated by PayPal




Sepia Records Ltd.
96 Tubbs Road
NW10 4SB

Registered in England and Wales, company number 4436472


1. Let's Do It
2. Too Many Martinis
3. I Talk To The Trees
4. Begin The Beguine
5. The Song From "Moulin Rouge" (Where Is Your Heart)
6. On The First Warm Day
7. I've Never Been In Love Before
8. If I Were A Bell
9. The Bells Of Home
10. The Queen Of Everyone's Heart
11. Remember To Remember Me
12. Fisherman John
13. I Live For You
14. Make Her Mine
15. It's All Right With Me
16. These Foolish Things
17. Looking At You
18. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
19. I Love Paris
20. Wherever There's Love
21. Get Out Of Town
22. Goodnight My Love
23. Surprisingly
24. Wait Till April

Title: The Prince of Melody
Artist: Hutch (Leslie A. Hutchinson)
Catalogue No: SEPIA 1064
Barcode: 5055122110644
Release Date: 6 March 2006

Although Leslie A. Hutchinson was born in Grenada and spent some time as a young man performing in New York and subsequently Paris, it was really in London where Hutch (as he was commonly known) achieved fame and success as a performer who played the piano and sang and whose fans included royalty.

After leaving New York in 1924 Hutch moved to Paris where he performed at elegant clubs like the Romance, the Boite and Zelli's. A year after arriving in Paris, Hutch met and became the protégé of Cole Porter who was based there throughout the 1920s. Porter taught Hutch socially and intellectually, as well as about music, clothes and style. Of the songs Cole wrote most often associated with Hutch, two are included on this CD: "Let's Do It" and "Begin The Beguine", and it was he who showed Hutch exactly how he wanted his songs played and performed.

At the invitation of impresario Charles Cochran, Hutch came to London in 1927 to appear in Cochran's West End revue "One Dam' Thing After Another" starring Jessie Matthews and Edythe Baker. Initially playing the piano in the orchestra pit, such was his success that when Edythe Baker fell ill, Hutch replaced her on stage at the white piano. From then on Hutch's fame grew in Britain through radio and personal appearances. He recorded over 600 songs for various British labels between the 1920s and 1954 when his career started to lose momentum. This CD comprises the very last 78s Hutch made in the 1950s and most are appearing on CD for the first time.

© 2002 - 2009 Sepia Records Ltd.