All major credit cards accepted - payments are facilitated by PayPal




Sepia Records Ltd.
96 Tubbs Road
NW10 4SB

Registered in England and Wales, company number 4436472


1. Magical City 5:20
2. Happiness Cocktail 4:12
3. I'm Learnin' My Latin 3:05
4. Once Upon A Dream 3:17
5. Never Leave Me 3:51
6. This Close To The Dawn 3:12
7. Repeat After Me 1:49
8. Repeat After Me (Reprise) 3:39
9. The Magic Fire 2:35
10. Married I Can Always Get 5:13
11. The Statue Of Liberty 2:22
12. The Party 2:45
13. New York's My Home 4:29
14. Closing 1:56
15. Theme From "Seven Dreams" 3:02
16. My Own 2:28
17. Tired Of Waitin' 2:43
18. Young Ideas 2:42
19. Angel's Lullaby 2:41
20. Through The Night 2:33
21. Follow Me, Baby 2:37
22. Wish I Could Say The Same 2:45
23. How Do I Love You? 2:59
24.You're Not Alone 3:05

Title: The Complete Manhattan Tower
Artist: Gordon Jenkins with Beverly Mahr & Elliott Lewis
Catalogue No: SEPIA 1087
Barcode: 5055122110873
Release Date: 7 March 2007

For about 25 years of the 50 since its original LP release, this version of Manhattan Tower has been unavailable except on records from second-hand shops. It gives us great pleasure presenting in its entirety the complete version of Gordon Jenkins's masterpiece, the 1956 Manhattan Tower on CD.

The original suite of this musical narrative which served as a love story between the narrator Steven and Julie, and the parallel romance between Steven and Manhattan (comprised of "The Magical City," "The Party," "New York's My Home," and "Love In A Tower") was first released in 1946 on two 78 rpm platters where it slowly gained momentum and became a best seller. By 1956, with "microgroove" and "high fidelity" the buzzwords of the day, Manhattan Tower seemed a natural choice for an overhaul and re-recording on an LP. This new recording was expanded with the addition of side trips to a bar, a dance floor, Central Park and Greenwich Village. The glories of the expanded suite are apparent at first hearing, and could easily be appreciated by anyone who has journeyed to New York, and anyone who's ever been in love - or wants to be.

The suite is complemented on this new release by some rarer Gordon Jenkins recordings - Theme from Seven Dreams makes its digital debut here. It is accompanied by two more lovely instrumentals, Angel's Lullaby and Through The Night. Although the former "features" Gordon himself on the piano, the latter is more representative of his trademark, the "one-finger swing" at the piano.

Seven other tracks complete the disc - Young Ideas, How Do I Love You, You're Not Alone, Wish I Could Say The Same are pure 1950s pop with the Jenkins touch; others My Own, Tired of Waitin', Follow Me, Baby seem to look ahead to his 1958 Tropicana Holiday in their energy and creativity.

© 2002 - 2009 Sepia Records Ltd.